2010 Governor General’s Medals in Architecture announced

The Royal Architectural Institute of Canada (RAIC) and the Canada Council for the Arts are pleased to announce the recipients of the Governor General’s Medals in Architecture for 2010 recognizing outstanding design in recently built projects by Canadian architects. They include:

  • Corkin Gallery (Toronto, Ontario) – Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc.
  • Craven Road Studio (Toronto, Ontario) – Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc.
  • French River Visitor Centre (Alban, Ontario) – Baird Sampson Neuert Architects
  • La Grande Bibliothèque du Québec (Montreal, Quebec) – Patkau / Croft Pelletier / Menkès Shooner Dagenais architectes associés
  • Photographer’s Studio over a Boat House (Stoney Lake, Ontario) – gh3
  • Prefab Cottage for Two Families (Muskoka, Ontario) – Kohn Shnier Architects
  • Private Residence and Guesthouse (Laurentians, Quebec) – Saucier + Perrotte architectes
  • Promenade Samuel-De Champlain (Québec, Quebec) – Daoust Lestage Inc. architecture design urbain
  • Ravine Guest House (Toronto, Ontario) – Shim-Sutcliffe Architects Inc.
  • Royal Conservatory of Music, TELUS Centre for Performance and Learning (Toronto, Ontario) – Kuwabara Payne McKenna Blumberg Architects
  • Scandinave Les Bains Vieux-Montréal (Montreal, Quebec) – Saucier + Perrotte architectes
  • St-Germain Égouts et Aqueducs, siège social et entreposage (St-Hubert, Quebec) – Allaire Courchesne Dupuis Frappier, architectes

“The Canadian architects we are honouring have the gift of designing not only buildings, places and monuments, but living spaces that give soul to our cities, villages and communities. Faced with the growing standardization of the urban landscape, we can’t help but recognize their originality, their daring, their vision and their sensibility,” said Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada.


“The 2010 winners of the Governor General’s medals demonstrate the positive impact that architecture can have on the quality of our communities by revitalizing heritage buildings and creating new structures that mirror their surroundings,” said Joseph L. Rotman, Chair of the Canada Council.  “These projects have demonstrated how architecture is art which is integrated in a unique way into society and how buildings can be more than wood and bricks, they can be works of artistic invention to be studied and enjoyed.”


“The projects recognized this year are unique in their ability to blend the conceptual and the technical to bring together truly inspired contemporary Canadian architecture,” said RAIC President Randy Dhar, FRAIC. “The award-winning projects demonstrate design excellence by Canadian architects in the residential, institutional, cultural, industrial and other building types. Canada’s architects do shine throughout the country and around the globe.”


Recipients for 2010 were selected by a jury of architects that included: Jane Pendergast, FRAIC; Nader Tehrani; Betsy Williamson; Bernardo Gomez-Pimienta, Hon. FIRAC; and Georges Adamczyk.

You might also like