Richard Rogers: 2007 Pritzker Prize winner

LONDON, England — Richard Rogers of the London-based firm Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners has been chosen as the 2007 Laureate of the Pritzker Architecture Prize. The formal ceremony will be held on June 4 in London where the 73-year-old architect will receive a $100,000 grant and a bronze medallion.

In announcing the jury’s choice, Thomas J. Pritzker, president of The Hyatt Foundation, quoted from the jury citation: “Born in Florence, Italy, and trained as an architect in London, at the Architectural Association, and later, in the United States at Yale University, Rogers has an outlook as urbane and expansive as his upbringing. In his writings, through his role as advisor to policy-making groups, as well as his large-scale planning work, Rogers is a champion of urban life and believes in the potential of the city to be a catalyst for social change.”

In Rogers’ own words, his vision is that cities of the future “will no longer be zoned as today in isolated one-activity ghettos; rather they will resemble the more richly layered cities of the past. Living, work, shopping, learning, and leisure will overlap and be housed in continuous, varied and changing structures.”

Some of Richard Roger’s work include the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, Lloyd’s of London in London, and Terminal 4 of Barajas Airport in Madrid which won the 2006 Stirling Prize. In addition to London, Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners has offices in Barcelona, Madrid and Tokyo.

The Pritzker Architecture Prize was established by The Hyatt Foundation in 1979 to annually honour a living architect whose built work demonstrates a combination of those qualities of talent, vision, and commitment, which has produced consistent and significant contributions to humanity and the built environment through the art of architecture. It has often been described as “architecture’s most prestigious award” or as “the Nobel of architecture.”

For more information

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.