What to expect from the Canadian version of LEED 2009

Enermodal is coordinating the release of LEED 2009, and the due date is just around the corner. Debuting in Canada five years ago, LEED quickly became the premier green building rating system, and in those five years, 1,300 LEED projects have been registered with the Canada Green Building Council (CaGBC) and over 100 certified. Although the benefits of the LEED system are appreciated by building designers, owners, and occupants, there is room for improvement. LEED 2009 will feature several changes based on input from Enermodal and other industry leaders who use LEED on a daily basis. Buildings currently registered with the CaGBC can certify under LEED 1.0, LEED 2009 or apply for certain credits under each system. Those registering next year must use the LEED 2009.

There are many elements of LEED that will remain the same, such as:

• six credit categories

• credits names and scope

• structure of credits

Although the new reference guide will look very similar to LEED 1.0, it will also include CIRs, application guides for multi-unit residential buildings, campuses and multiple buildings, leased tenant space, and the LEED-CS (Core and Shell) rating system.

The substantial changes include the following:

• a regular development cycle (every three years the rating system will be redeveloped)

• the number and weighting of points (to better reflect the environmental importance of certain credits)

• new regional priority points (extra points available in certain existing categories that address issues of regional environmental importance)

• certification submittal process

• some credit requirements

Sustainable Sites changes:

• no buildings on prime farmland (Class 1, 2, and 3)

• new option for community connectivity

• bike racks must be covered

Water Efficiency changes:

• pre-requisite is a 20 per cent reduction in water use

• water meters required

• thresholds for water use reduction increase to 35 and 40 per cent for each credit

• baseline faucet flow rate reduced from 9.5 to 1.9L/min Energy Efficiency changes:

• prescriptive compliance options for EAp2 and EAc1

• energy model for EAp2 and EAc1 must include process energy

• EAp2 is based on energy cost savings

• renewable energy thresholds changed to 1, 3, 5, 7, 9, 11, or 13 per cent

Material Selection changes:

• bottom tier threshold (55 per cent) for building reuse

• recycled content thresholds increased to 10 and 20 per cent

• regional material thresholds increased to 20 and 30 per cent

• rapidly renewable threshold dropped to 2.5 per cent

• all wood product vendors must be FSC Chain of Custody certified

Indoor Environmental Quality changes:

• all low-emitting flooring covered

• controllability split into

• lighting (task lighting)

• thermal comfort (windows and individual controls)

• thermal comfort: verification requires occupant surveys

Innovation changes:

• maximum of three points for Exemplary Performance

• four “Regional Priority” points

• three points for meeting credit important to region (eg. achieving waste diversion credit in regions with limited recycling options) B

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.