OAA announces 2013 award winners and opens voting for People’s Choice Award

Demonstrating the best in architectural design and innovation, winners of the 2013 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards feature both Canadian and international projects designed by Ontario architects, ranging from sustainable single-family homes to the redevelopment of key cultural and civic destinations.

Representing Ontario’s emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms, 15 new, built projects in Toronto, Montreal, Los Angeles, Tel-Aviv, Waterloo, Sequin Township, and Vancouver have been distinguished in the ‘Design Excellence’ category. Selected from more than 170 submissions, recipients of the 2013 ‘Design Excellence’ Award have been recognized by a jury of peers from the design community on the following criteria:  

  1. Creativity: The innovative nature of the design solution.
  2. Context: The contribution a project makes to its unique location, to neighbouring uses and to community building.
  3. Sustainability: The contribution the project makes to a sustainable environment. Considers project design merits and the reduced use of raw materials and dependence on fossil fuels, as well as projects that achieve high quality interior environments, with regards to daylighting, air quality and material use.
  4. Good Design/Good Business: The degree to which the project creatively supports and interprets the business and architectural goals of the client through programming and design.
  5. Legacy: The contribution of the project in establishing a new benchmark for architectural excellence.

Celebrating forward-thinking design and leadership in architecture, more than 30 winners in nine categories will be recognized at a formal awards ceremony in Toronto this May, as part of the OAA’s annual conference.

2013 OAA Awards – List of Winners

Design Excellence:

Assuta Medical Centre
Tel Aviv, Israel
Zeidler Partnership Architects
with Moore Architects Ltd. and M. Brestovisky Architects & Urban Design (Tel Aviv, Israel)

Cedarvale Ravine House
Toronto, ON
Drew Mandel Architects

Centre for Green Cities, Evergreen Brickworks
Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art
Montreal, QC
Provencer Roy + Associés Architectes

Clear Lake Cottage
Sequin Township, ON
MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Division 11
Toronto, ON
Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects
E.R.A. Architects Inc. (Heritage Consultant)

House on the Bluffs
Toronto, ON
Taylor Smyth Architects

Los Angeles Museum of the Holocaust
Los Angeles, California
Belzberg Architects

Place des Festivals + Vitrines habitées – Quartier des spectacles

Montreal, QC
DAOUST LESTAGE inc. architecture design urbain

Regent Park Aquatic Centre

Toronto, ON

MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

Rotman School of Management

Toronto, ON

KPMB Architects

Ryerson Image Centre/School of Image Arts

Toronto, ON
Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Stone Residence

Toronto, ON

Hagy Belzberg Architect

The CIGI Campus

Waterloo, ON

KPMB Architects

University of British Columbia, Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences/CDRD

Vancouver, BC

Saucier + Perrotte Architectes & Hughes Condon Marler Architects

Concepts & Presentations:


The Map is Not the Territory

Honourable Mention

Brian A. Urbanik, student


Honourable Mention

Michael Conway, Architect


Steel Table

Honourable Mention

Cindy Rendeley Architexture

Knob Portrait: Mayor Ford

Honourable Mention

Paul Raff Studio Incorporated Architect


In Search of Place

Honourable Mention

Melody Taghi-Poor, Intern architect

Islamic Centre, Fort McMurray Alberta

Honourable Mention

Zak Ghanim, Architect Inc.

Best Emerging Practice:

Workshop Architecture Inc.

Landmark Award:

Massey College

Ronald J. Thom, Thompson, Berwick & Pratt

Lifetime Design Achievement Award:

A.J. Diamond

G. Randy Roberts Service Award:

Alexander Rankin

Order of da Vinci:

David Craddock


The Ontario Association of Architects invites the public to cast their vote for the ‘People’s Choice’ Award. Launching March 27 and running until April 15, the public is encouraged visit the OAA’s People’s Choice Award Page on the OAA Website (www.oaa.on.ca) and pick their favourite new building from the 15 ‘Design Excellence’ Award winners.

2013 OAA Award Juries

The 2013 Award winners were chosen by Juries that included members of the public whose interests and background represent many areas of the Ontario design community.

Design Excellence & Plachta Award:
CHAIR – David Sisam, Principal, Montgomery Sisam Architects

Andrea Gabor, Partner, Urban Strategies Inc.

Dave LeBlanc, Journalist, The Globe and Mail

Gary Switzer, CEO, MOD Developments Inc.

Kristyn Wong-Tam, Toronto City Councillor

Concepts & Presentations Awards:
CHAIR – Robert Glover, Architect, Planner and Urban Designer, Bousfields Inc.
Doreen Balabanoff, Associate Professor OCAD, artist and designer

Marshall Pynkoski, Founding Co-Artistic Director, Opera Atelier

Matthew Teitelbaum, Director and CEO, Art Gallery of Ontario

Landmark, Order of da Vinci,  Best Emerging Practice & G. Randy Roberts Award:

CHAIR – John Ota, Facilities Management, Ministry of the Attorney General
Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect
David Thompson, Chair, Grand Valley Society of Architects

Bill Birdsell, OAA President   

The 2013 awards will be presented in Toronto on Friday May 10, 2013 at the OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner hosted at the Metro Toronto Convention Centre by OAA President Bill Birdsell and Master of Ceremonies, Ben Mulroney.

Additional awards to be announced at the
event include ‘Best of Show’, the ‘Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award’, and ‘People’s Choice’.

For more information about the 2013 OAA Awards and to purchase tickets please visit: http://conferenceregistration.oaa.on.ca.

You might also like