OAA announces 2014 award winners and opens voting for People’s Choice

Demonstrating the best in architectural design and innovation, winners of the 2014 Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) Awards feature Canadian projects designed by Ontario architects, ranging from sustainable single-family homes to the redevelopment of key cultural and civic destinations.

Representing Ontario’s emerging new talent and some of the province’s most established architecture firms, 15 newly completed projects in Toronto, Ottawa, Winnipeg, Bracebridge, Hamilton, Brampton, Midhurst, and Halifax, have been distinguished in the Design Excellence category. Selected from more than 170 submissions, recipients of the 2014 ‘Design Excellence’ Award have been recognized by a jury of peers from the design community on the following criteria:

1. Creativity: The innovative nature of the design solution.

2. Context: The contribution a project makes to its unique location, to neighbouring uses and to community building.

3. Sustainability: The contribution the project makes to a sustainable environment: reduced use of raw materials and dependence on fossil fuels, as well as projects that achieve high quality interior environments, with regards to daylighting, air quality and material use.

4. Good Design/Good Business: The degree to which the project creatively supports and interprets the business and architectural goals of the client through programming and design.

5. Legacy: The contribution of the project in establishing a new benchmark for architectural excellence.

2014 OAA Awards – List of Winners

Design Excellence

Algonguin Centre for Construction Excellence Ottawa, ON Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated Edward J. Cuhaci and Associates Architects Inc.

Bridgepoint Active Healthcare Toronto, ON Stantec Architecture Ltd., Architects / KPMB Architects HDR Architecture Associates, Inc./ Diamond

Centennial College Athletic and Wellness Centre Toronto, ON Kongats Architects

Centennial College Library and Academic Facility Toronto, ON Diamond and Schmitt Architects Incorporated

Chinguacousy Park Redevelopment Brampton, ON MacLennan Jaunkalns Miller Architects Ltd.

County of Simcoe Administration Centre Midhurst, ON Teeple Architects Inc. & Ted Handy & Associates Inc., Architect in joint venture

Manitoba Hydro Place Winnipeg, MB KPMB Architects (Design Architect) Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect) Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Moore Park Residence Toronto, ON Drew Mandel Architects

Mount Dennis Library Toronto, ON G. Bruce Stratton Architects

Nova Scotia Power (NSP) Corporate Headquarters Halifax, NS WZMH Architects Fowler Bauld and Mitchell, Associate Architects

Stealth Cabin Bracebridge, ON Superkül Inc., Architect

Stoney Creek Recreation Centre Hamilton, ON Rounthwaite Dick & Hadley Architects Inc. with Lintack Architects Incorporated

Through House Toronto, ON Dubbeldam Architecture + Design

Tommy Thompson Park Pavilions Toronto, ON Montgomery Sisam Architects Inc.

Victoria Park Subway Station Toronto, ON IBI Group Architects Brown and Storey Architects Inc.


Semi [Detached] Batay-Csorba Architects Jodi Batay-Csorba Andrew Batay-Csorba

Jiigew (by the water) Prince Arthur’s Landing, Thunder Bay, ON spmb & Brook Mcllroy Architects

UnEarthed Honourable Mention Ken O. Lum

Sustainable Design Excellence Award

Manitoba Hydro Place Winnipeg, MB KPMB Architects (Design Architect) Smith Carter Architects & Engineers Incorporated (Executive Architect) Prairie Architects Inc. (Advocate Architect)

Landmark Designation 50 Park Road Toronto, ON John B. Parkin Associates (Now NORR Limited, Architects and Engineers)

McMaster University Health Sciences Centre Hamilton, ON Zeidler Partnership Architects

Wandich Cottage Peterborough, ON Strasman Architects Inc.

Best Emerging Practice

Atelier Kastelic Buffey Inc.

G. Randy Roberts Service Award

Recognizing members of the OAA for extraordinary service to the members

Susan Ruptash

Lifetime Design Achievement Award

Honouring members for career-long contribution to Architectural Design Excellence

Jerome Markson

Order of da Vinci

Presented to persons who have made a significant and meaningful contribution to the profession of architecture

Gordon Grice

People’s Choice

The Ontario Association of Architects invites members of the public to cast their vote for the People’s Choice Award. Launching March 25 and running until April 15, the public is encouraged to visit the OAA’s People’s Choice Award Page on the OAA website (www.oaa.on.ca) and pick their favourite new building from the 15 ‘Design Excellence’ Award winners.

2014 OAA Award Juries

The 2014 Award winners were chosen by juries that included members of the public whose interests and backgrounds represent many areas of the Ontario design community.

Design Excellence & Sustainable Design Excellence Awards:

CHAIR – Marco L. Polo, Associate Professor, Writer & Architect

Mark Cote, Vice President Development, Oxford Properties Group

Terrance Galvin, Founding Director, Laurentian School of Architecture

Rina Greer, Public Art Consultant and Director, Toronto Sculpture Garden

Robert E. Millward, President & Founder, R.E. Millward & Associates Ltd.

Sheena Sharp ( Susatinability Advisor) Architect, Coolearth Architecture Inc.


CHAIR – Kelvin Browne, Executive Director & CEO, Gardiner Museum

Arlene Gould, Director, Design Industry Advisory Committee

Ivan Martinovic, Architect, Principal-Archdesign Architects,

Jim Melvin, Partner, PMA Landscape Architects

Landmark, Order of da Vinci, Best Emerging Practice & G. Randy Roberts Award:

CHAIR – Diarmuid Nash, Partner, Moriyama & Teshima Architects

J.William Birdsell, OAA President 2014

Diana Osborne, Architect, Osborne Architect

Andrew Bruce-Payne, Society Chair – North Bay Society of Architects

OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner May 9

The 2014 awards will be presented in Montreal on Friday May 9, 2014 at the OAA Celebration of Excellence Awards and Dinner hosted at the Fairmont The Queen Elizabeth by O
AA President Bill Birdsell and Master of Ceremonies, Ben Mulroney.

Additional awards to be announced at the event include ‘Best of Show’, the ‘Michael V. and Wanda Plachta Award’ and ‘People’s Choice’. For more information about the 2014 OAA Awards and to purchase tickets please visit: http://conferenceregistration.oaa.on.ca.

You might also like