OAA Announces 2022 Queen’s Park Picks

The Ontario Association of Architects (OAA) has announced its top selections for this year’s Queen’s Park Picks.

Each year, a special exhibition at Queen’s Park highlights a selection of outstanding buildings. However, following the adjournment of the legislature, the OAA will be presenting the 2022 Queen’s Park Picks online at: www.oaa.on.ca/QPP.

An emerging theme from this year’s QP Picks is community, with numerous buildings playing important roles as spaces where people gather. As public health restrictions continue to ease and members of the public find themselves sharing spaces once again. 

Nine projects have been selected by a jury of architects for this year’s Queen’s Park Picks online exhibit, which showcases the diversity of architecture in Ontario. The buildings chosen were:

  • Abilities Centre in Whitby
    Architect: B+H Architects Corp.
    Nominated by MPP Lorne Coe
Image : The athlete-inspired curve of the Abilities Centre. Photo: Toni Hafkenscheid courtesy of B+H Architects Corp.
  • Adawe Bridge in Ottawa
    Architect: Stantec Architecture Ltd.
    Nominated by MPP Lucille Collard
Image : The crossing over the Rideau river. Photo: Courtesy of Stantec Architecture Ltd.
  • Franklin Carmichael Art Centre Building in Toronto (Etobicoke)
    Architect: unknown
    Nominated by Premier Doug Ford
Image : Rear of Franklin Carmichael Art Centre. Photo by Kurtis Chen
  • Holy Protection of the Mother of God Ukrainian Catholic Church in Guelph
    Architect: Evhen Gren
    Nominated by MPP Mike Schreiner
Image : Holy Protection of the Mother of God Ukrainian Catholic Church at sunset. Photo: Tony – stock.adobe.com
  • Jeremiah McKay Kabayshewekamik in Sioux Lookout
    Architect: ft3 Architecture Landscape Interior Design in association with Manasc Isaac Architects (now Reimagine)
    Nominated by MPP Sol Mamakwa
Image : Front approach to the Jeremiah McKay Kabayshewekamik. Photo: Courtesy of FT3 Architecture Landscape Interior Design.
  • Place des Arts in Sudbury
    Architects: Moriyama & Teshima Architects in joint venture with Yallowega Belanger Salach Architecture
    Nominated by MPP Jamie West
Image : The oxidized steel facade of Place des Art projects towards Elgin Street. Photo: Tom Arban courtesy of Yallowega Belanger Salach Architecture.
  • Union Station in Toronto
    Architects: Ross and MacDonald, Hugh Jones (Assistant Chief Architect,
    Canadian Pacific Railway) and John M. Lyle Architect
    Architects of Renovation (2022): NORR Architects & Engineers Limited, EVOQ Architecture Inc., Zeidler Architecture, PARTISANS (interior), IBI Group (second platform)
    Nominated by MPP Chris Glover
Image : Front of Union Station. Photo: iStock.com/JHVEPhoto
  • Victoria County Gaol in Lindsay
    Architect: Cumberland and Storm
    Nominated by MPP Laurie Scott
Image : The front facade as it was in 1977. Photo: Courtesy of Kawartha Lakes Museum & Archives
  • Victoria Hall (Brockville City Hall) in Brockville
    Architect: Henry H. Horsey
    Architect of Renovation: O. E. Liston
    Nominated by MPP Steve Clark
Image : Rear perspective of Victoria Hall with its former market hall in the foreground. Photo: pixs:sell – stock.adobe.com

“I am so thrilled that year after year, our Members of Provincial Parliament join us in recognizing the marvelous examples of Ontario architecture found in all parts of our province,” notes OAA President Susan Speigel. “We must continue to respect and revere these beautiful places that form a crucial part of our social fabric.”

You might also like