Short-listed firms for Ontario Provincial Police facilities redevelopment

Three companies have been short-listed to design, build, finance and maintain new Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) facilities located in 15 communities across the province including: Armstrong, Kenora, Iroquois Falls, Timmins, Nipigon, Peterborough, Smiths Falls, Burk’s Falls, Orillia, Walkerton, North Bay, Chatham-Kent, Dryden, and Mount Forest and Long Sault.


The project will include the construction of new detachments, regional headquarters and forensic identification units. The new facilities, which in many cases are replacing facilities that have exceeded their useful life (40 to 50 years), will feature up-to-date amenities to better support the demands of modern police operations and meet the needs of the community.


“This project provides the OPP with the modern facilities and technologies they need to keep our communities safe. We’re committed to giving police the tools they need to do their job,” said Rick Bartolucci, Minister of Community Safety and Correctional Services.


Based on a request for qualifications (RFQ) process that began in February 2009, four companies were pre-qualified for the project. Three companies were short-listed and will be invited to respond to a request for proposals (RFP), expected to be issued in summer 2009. The three short-listed companies are:


Forum Social Infrastructure (FSI): Forum Equity Partners Inc., Brookfield Financial Corporation, Stantec Inc., Bondfield Construction Company Limited, M. Sullivan & Sons Limited, Dominion Construction Company Inc., Johnson Controls Inc., and TD Securities Inc.


Integrated Team Solutions (ITS): Ellis Don Corporation, Fengate Capital Management Ltd., LPF Infrastructure Fund, WZMH Architects, Genivar Consultants Limited Partnership, PBK Architects, Smith Group, Habib Architects, Kalmantis Architects, Tom Jones Corporation, Finn Way General Contractor Inc., Monteith Building Group Ltd., Black & McDonald, and Scotia Capital


SHIELD Infrastructure Group (SIG): HOCHTIEF PPP Solutions North America Inc., Bird Design-Build Limited, Honeywell Limited, NORR Limited Architects & Engineers, Shore Tilbe Irwin & Partners, MCW Consultants Ltd., Banerjee & Associates Ltd., MMM Group Limited, Evans Bertrand Hill Wheeler Architecture Inc., Trow Global Inc., Frecon Construction Limited, Collaborative Structures Limited, Miller Paving Limited, and CIT Financial Ltd.


The remaining pre-qualified company will act as reserve in the event that one of the three short-listed companies is unable to bid. Pre-qualified companies were selected based on their development, design, construction, financial, and facilities management capacity to undertake a project of this size and complexity.

You might also like