The 2019 EnerQuality Awards celebrates builders constructing energy-efficient homes

Leaders of the Ontario building industry gathered via a reimagined virtual event to celebrate Canadian builders and their commitment to constructing energy-efficient homes at the 2019 EnerQuality Awards.

“We are proud to bring together our family of high-performance homebuilders again this year and share our community’s transformational results,” says Rose Benedetto, Managing Director of EnerQuality. “Despite the pressures of our time, the industry reaffirmed their intention to continue to build better and certify new homes. These homes deliver substantial energy and cost savings to Ontario homeowners and climate benefits for Ontario communities.”

Terra View Homes awarded the 2020 EnerQuality’s ENERGY STAR for New Homes — Small Custom Builder

Several new awards were added to the categories this year including the Green Renovation Project of the Year, Licensed Professional of the Year, HBA of the Year, Product Innovation – Mid and High Rise.

“Innovation drives our industry,” says Shannon Bertuzzi, Vice President, Market Development. “We have the solution providers to help accelerate housing of the future, and now is the time to showcase them and drive energy efficient and zero carbon options.”

Special designations selected by EnerQuality included the EQ Industry Partner, Hall of Fame winner, Impact Award and Leader of the Year. The 2019 EQ Award Winners include:

Doug Tarry 2019 – Hall of Fame Winner

EnerQuality named Doug Tarry as the recipient of the 2019 Hall of Fame Award. As the Vice President of Operations for Doug Tarry Homes, a second-generation builder of Net Zero and the CHBA Net Zero Home labelling program, Doug has helped to raise awareness and propel energy-saving initiatives within the company and is committed to building only homes to the CHBA Net Zero Home Labelling Program and ENERGY STAR standards. He initiated Project HOPE, a three-day Net Zero “home build” fundraising effort to help a family in need in his community. In addition, he is the founder of HOPE AGUA VITA, a fundraising effort taking volunteers to Puerto Rico to rebuild homes after Hurricane Maria. Dedicated to innovation, Doug is also the co-owner of Graphenstone Canada, an ecological paint and specialty coating company with zero VOCs and with the ability to absorb CO2. Doug is the Past President of the Ontario Home Builder Association (OHBA), a two-time Canadian Home Builders’ Association (CHBA) National Grand SAM Award Winner, the current Technical Chair of the OHBA, and is part of the CHBA’s Net Zero and Technical Research Councils.

Stefanie Coleman – 2019 Leader of the Year

The 2019 EQ Leader of the Year was awarded to Stefanie Coleman. Stefanie joined the residential construction industry 15 years ago as a renovation contractor. She studied building science extensively and has joined Building Knowledge Canada in delivering training, marketing and working with builders and renovators to construct exceptional homes for their clients. Stephanie has also been a vital member of the home builders association, serving as National President of CHBA in 2019/2020.

Tony Muto – 2019 Impact Award Winner

Antonio (Tony) Muto, VP of Construction, Low-Rise at Lakeview Homes is the 2019 recipient of the Impact Award. This EnerQuality-selected award is given to a builder that has made significant long-term voluntary progress in reducing carbon emissions and showed outstanding achievements through energy efficiency and sustainable practices.

Best Green Marketing Campaign

Acorn Developments – NetZero Ready Showcase Home

Builder Achievement

Jennifer Weatherston, Claxton + Marsh

Building Innovation – Low-Rise

Great Gulf – Active House

Building Innovation – High-Rise

Minto Communities Canada – Minto Yorkville Park

Champion of the Year

Roy Nandram, RND Construction Ltd.

Energy Advisor of the Year

Sacha Klein, A&J Energy Consultants

EnerQuality’s ENERGY STAR for New Homes – Large Volume Builder

Mattamy Homes

EnerQuality’s ENERGY STAR for New Homes – Mid Volume Builder

Doug Tarry Homes Ltd.

EnerQuality’s ENERGY STAR for New Homes – Small/Custom Builder

Terra View Custom Homes Ltd.

Green Renovation Project of the Year

Steve Snider Construction – Lakeview Farm

HBA of the Year

Greater Ottawa HBA

Licensed Professional of the Year

Luka Matutinovic, Purpose Building Inc.

Net Zero Builder

Claxton + Marsh

Ontario Green Builder of the Year – Low-Rise

Acorn Developments

Ontario Green Builder of the Year Mid or High-Rise

FRAM + Slokker

Product Innovation – Low-Rise (OBC Part 9)


Product Innovation – High-Rise (OBC Part 3)

Owens Corning Canada – Thermafiber RainBarrier ci High Compressive Mineral Wool Insulation

Enbridge Savings by Design Affordable Housing Award

Redwood Park Communities

Enbridge Savings by Design Commercial Award

Brookfield Residential

Enbridge Savings by Design Residential Award

Icon Homes

Enbridge Optimum Home Award

Doug Tarry Homes Ltd.

Industry Partner of the Year

Owens Corning Canada Panasonic Canada

People’s Choice Award

Acorn Developments

You might also like

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.